I honestly wondered what in the world I’d have to blog about while in Uganda, but here I am with so many thoughts and emotions going through this 26-week pregnant mama that I can hardly slow my fingers down to type it all out!

It all started Sunday morning.  We were all planning on going to church together as a family at our friend, Terry Nester’s, church across town in Jinja.  Then Josh got a call from Godfrey.  Apparently Godfrey had forgotten that he was in Entebbe…and his church was in Jinja…and it was Sunday morning.  So, he asked Josh to preach for him, with just an hour’s notice before the service started.  That kind of started the sequence that soon began to unravel for the remainder of the next day and a half.

He frantically threw a message together while I fished out Cai’s antibiotics because he had come down with a serious stomach issue.  Quite honestly we were surprised it had taken him 6 weeks to come down with something with the amount of germs and bacteria he had ingested since our arrival:)

I finally found it and gave him his first dose, and then Meme began throwing up.  I quickly made the decision that only Josh would be going to church.  I also had Laiti, my new niece, with us.  So me and the 5 kiddos tried to occupy our time until Josh could get back so we could head to Entebe to take Meme and Cai to the airport.

We survived the morning and Meme got some sleep before we headed out.

We made it to Kampala in record time since we decided to leave before the traffic rush on Sunday afternoon.  And then it happened!

We heard a pop and then cars started honking at us from every direction.  Before we realized it the trunk to our taxi has flown open in the middle of a busy Kampala intersection and two of our suitcases flew out of the back.

One was just full of our clothes to live in Kampala for a couple of days, but the other one?  Well, it contains our whole life.  It had all our adoption documents, our passports, our money, our Malaria medication as well as antibiotics (and usually the laptop)…

Our driver, Steven, pulled over as quickly as he could and we frantically assessed which bags Josh needed to run after.  We immediately realized that “The Little Red Suitcase” was among the ones that fell out!  Josh ran through the intersection and was barely able to confiscate our little red suitcase with the contents of our entire identity inside, from a man who was happily loading in the back of his own car!

While Josh was running around the intersection collecting our luggage I heard a crunch and thump.  I looked up just in time to see a man being hit by a car off his Boda.  It was one of the scariest things I’ve ever seen.  He quickly jumped up but was limping and holding his head.

A sigh of relief and praises to Jesus for looking out for our safety, for protecting this man on the boda, who had no helmet, and for allowing Josh to rescue our little red suitcase just in the nick of time.

We were all pretty shaken up after that.  And I must apolagize in advance to Heidi and Craig, we now owe you a brand new little red suitcase, as yours didn’t fare so well after the intersection escapade, sorry:(

We got through Kampala, which is TERRIBLE to go through on a Sunday afternoon by the way, and headed on to Entebbe to go rest before the 12:40am flight.  We all fell asleep as soon as our heads hit the pillow.  The next thing I knew I was kissing my sweet little 2-year-old goodbye as daddy and Meme headed out the door with him to the airport.  I think the hardest part is the fact that we don’t have a definite time as to when I’ll see him again.

Which, leads me to the next unfortunate event.

After we woke up and devoured our toast breakfast (I think I could go the rest of my life without ingesting another piece of toast:), we jumped back in the Taxi for Steven to take us back to Kampala.  The plan was to meet our Attorney back at the court building to wait for the judge…again…so he could sign our Ruling.  It has been almost a week since our scheduled Ruling Appointment so we were very hopeful for this leg of the journey to be completed today.

I got to the courthouse at about 10:30am.  I waited, and read, and waited some more.  Then all of a sudden a grown man began almost yelling into his phone as he briskly paced the lobby of the room I was in.  After he hung up the phone he practically ran to the other end of the security section of the lobby and began wailing and sobbing.  A grown, Ugandan man, in a culture where emotion is NOT shown, was weeping with such force that he could hardly contain himself.  He had just found out that he had lost his closest of kin.  I don’t know who it was, but it was clearly someone who meant a lot to this man.  I couldn’t hold my own tears back as I watched him try to gain composure.  I never saw him again after he left the building after several failed attempts.

I continued to wait, but was getting pretty antsy.  I’ve gotten pretty brave, seeing as we’ve been gone for 7 weeks today, so I decided to go on a walk to the Attorney’s office to sort out some paperwork while we waited on the judge.  After figuring out all I could, and reading through another chapter in my book I almost fell asleep in the Attorney’s office.  I ventured out to find a coffee/internet cafe to sit and wait some more.  I had enough time to drink a tasty Mocha Frappe before I got the phone calls saying that the judge had finally appeared in the courtroom!  It was almost 4pm.

By the time I walked back over to the courthouse and waited for another hour and a half I got the news we’d been waiting for…but again, it wasn’t at all what we had hoped for.  Apparently our judge’s clerk had lied to our attorney about our ruling being typed out!  The judge was finally ready to sign, but the document had not been prepared. He told our Attorney that he would sign it Thursday…

I should have started bawling right then and there, but the tears never came.  Only peace and reassurance that can only come from God.  It was kind of surreal.  I’d been talking to Farouk, our agency contact over here in Uganda, and he has such wisdom and encouragement.  He is sympathetic while still be realistic in a way that no one else has been able to be.  He just looked at me, clearly saddened by our circumstances, but hopeful that Thursday was the day and that we would be able to submit everything to the Embassy on Friday.  Then he told me that everything happens for a reason and we just have to be patient, reminding me that at least we knew that we had a favorable ruling and that is the hardest part!

So, although I miss carpet under my feet, paved roads without all the pot holes, ice, a predictable schedule, no fear of Malaria, good toilet paper, my sweet Micaiah, my spacious house, friends and family, and the list goes on and on, I KNOW beyond a shadow of a doubt that the Lord is at work, and we are in His favor and He kept our documents safe, and the boda driver alive, and He is watching over our son, as well as perfectly mapping out the signing of our ruling, as well as the remainder of our journey here.  I know that because He promises to watch over His children and He promises not to give us more than we can handle.  I clearly just need a little more refining in the patience department;)

Thank you all for your continued prayers and encouragement!  You’ll never know how much they impact us and keep us going!

One more thing – we were all supposed to fly out with little Cai last night, but that was not God’s plan.  We have rescheduled our return flight for November 20th.  We know that Zeke, and maybe Rainy as well as either me or Josh will be coming home that day, we just pray that we will be able to make that flight home together as a family!

