This is Josh and this is my first post. I’ve been keeping a journal of my own so I won’t soon forget this journey that God has us on. This morning, before talking with our attorney and hearing the news that our court date has been postponed until the 28th, I wrote this:

We continue to make incredible progress with Shabila. Yesterday I was gone all day long doing some pastor’s training in Busia. When I walked in the door of our hut, immediately when she saw me her face lit up and she ran and threw her arms around me yelling, “Daddy, daddy!” For me, that was one of the biggest highlights of the trip so far. It was an amazing moment that I won’t soon forget. Tasha and I looked at each other with the biggest smiles of surprise, excitement, and gratitude all wrapped into one. God has been so faithful. Shabby feels like one of us. Just after only two weeks, I can’t imagine our life without her. And I can’t imagine having to place her back in the babies’ home. If for some reason this process draws out longer than six weeks (and now it’s looking like it will be a good bit longer), and we have to be here for an extended indefinite time, we are NOT putting her back in the orphanage. She is our little girl now and nothing can change that. We will figure something out, but we are a family and we will remain a family until this process is over. O God, give us strength and grace. Give us stamina and perseverance we didn’t know we had.

